Industry Awards Program

Enter Your Project Today!

2019 Vermont Flower Show

March 1-3, 2019 Become an Exhibitor Today!


Awards Nominations

Any Active, Associate or Student member of the Vermont Nursery & Landscaping Association (VNLA)/Green Works, current in dues, as well as any Honorary member, is eligible to nominate individuals for the VNLA awards.  Download the 2017/18 Nomination Ballot below.  The deadline to make nominations is December 1, 2018.

Download:   2018 Nomination Ballot for VNLA Awards

The 2017 Award Winners

Horticultural Achievement Award

This award is given to individuals connected to the horticulture industry in Vermont who are over 35 years of age and whose accomplishments have advanced our industry educationally, by plant development or growing, through literature, or through outstanding personal effort.  This award is the most prestigious and distinguished that can be received from the VNLA/Green Works.

Joan Lynch
The Inner Garden
Cornwall, VT
2017 Winner



Environmental Awareness Award

This award is given in recognition of an individual that has implemented an environmentally sound practice that contributes to the protection of our environment.

Nate Carr
Church Hill Landscapes, Inc.
Charlotte, VT
2017 Winner



Retailer of the Year Award

This award was established in 2012 and will be presented annually to a retail garden center or greenhouse operation that stands apart for their excellence in any or all of the following categories:  customer service, quality of plant material, knowledge of staff, creativity and innovations in marketing and presentation of retail space, and overall customer experience and satisfaction.

Eileen Schilling and Charlie Proutt
Horsford Gardens & Nursery
Charlotte, VT
2017 Winner


NENA Young Nursery Professional of the Year Award

The Young Nursery Professional of the Year award is an annual award established by the New England Nursery Association.  Its purpose is to reward, to honor, and to encourage participation, achievement and growth by an individual who is involved in a related horticultural industry and has not reached the age of 40 years, who has shown involvement in his or her state and/or regional nursery association, who has contributed to the growth and success of their company, and who has portrayed an image to the public of what our products and services can do for them.

** NOTE:  The NENA Award recipient is selected in November of each year for next year’s award.  The VNLA/Green Works award nominees are selected by January of each year for the previous year.  All recipients are honored at the Green Works annual meeting held in February of each year.

Ashley Robinson
Landscape Designer
Charlotte, VT
2018 Winner


Allen B. Crane Horticultural Employee Acknowledgement Award

This award will be presented annually and is being sponsored by Claussen’s Florist & Greenhouse in honor of Allen B. CranAllen B. Crane1e, head grower there for over 42 years.   Allen was “a great friend, wonderful colleague and an incredible grower”.  Allen passed away in 2013 after a yearlong battle with cancer.   This award is being established in Allen’s honor to recognize the employees that make a difference in the horticultural industry. A cash prize will be awarded to the recipient in the amount of $275.  Nominees must meet the following criteria:  they should be an employee of a member business with a minimum of 5 years employment with that business; nominees must be employed in the horticultural industry, which could also include the field of education; and nominees should be exemplary leaders and display an ability to grow and excel in the workplace and beyond.

Amy Olmsted
Rocky Dale Gardens
Bristol, VT
2017 Winner





Student Merit Awards

University of Vermont

2018 – Kaly Gonski
2017 – Rowan Payne-Meyer
2016 – Michael Murphy
2015 – Donald Keith, III
2014 – John Davis
2013 – John R. Bruce
2012 – Graham Glauber
2011 – Graham Glauber
2010 – Jesse Ackemann
2009 – Kaitlin May Harris and John F. Holcomb II
2007 – Cole Downing
2006 – Mark Finch
2005 – Kent Martin
2004 – Andrew Bur

Vermont Technical College

2018 – Ben Zaccarra
2017 – David Howes
2016- Lucas Buckley-Jamison
2015 – Oliver Zeichner
2014 – Kim Cayer
2013 – Kelly Pellegrino
2012 – Jackie Fontaine
2011 – Brittny Tyler
2010 – Lisa Hoare
2009 – Jonathan J. Becker
2008 – Lucy Thayer
2006 – Justin Filskov
2005 – Megan Hefner and Rob Moore
2004 – Mark Dumont
2002 – Jeremy Tinker


Past Award Winners:

    Horticultural Achievement Award

2016  Lori King, Claussen’s Florist, Greenhouse & Perennial Farm
2015  Paul Wieczoreck, Champlain Valley Landscaping/Lincoln Hill Nursery
2014  David Loysen, Shaw Hill Nursery
2013  Leo Roberts, Horsfords Garden & Nursery
2012  Don and Lela Avery, Cady’s Falls Nursery
2011  Charles Siegchrist – Barber Farm, Inc.
2010  Christopher Conant – Claussen’s Florist & Greenhouse
2009  Amy Rose-White, Rocky Dale Gardens
2008  Paul Sokal and Louise Giovanella, Addison Gardens
2007  John and Patti Padua, Cobble Creek Nursery
2006  Thomas F. Wright, Homestead Landscaping
2005  Dan G. Nash, Nash’s Treescape
2004  Leonard Perry, UVM
2003  Bill Countryman, Countryman Peony Farm
2002  Charlie Proutt, Horsford’s Nursery
2001  Holly Weir & Bill Pollard, Rocky Dale Gardens
2000  Greg Williams
1998  Joan Hulbert, Smallwood Nursery
1997  William Horsford
1996  Dennis Bruckel, Grand Isle Nursery
1995  Richard Salter
1994  Elmer Brown, The E.C. Brown Nursery
1993  Norman & Dorothy Pellett
1992  Lewis & Nancy Hill
1991  Richard Stevens, Sr.

    Environmental Awareness Award

2016  Dan Redondo, Vermont Wetland Plant Supply, Inc.
2015  Liz and Jake Guest, Killdeer Farm
2014  Rebecca Lindenmeyr, Linden L.A.N.D. Group
2013  Sarah Salatino, Full Circle Gardens
2012  Chris Conant, Claussen’s Florist & Greenhouse
2011  Sarah Holland – River’s Bend Garden Design
2009  Charlie Proutt and Eileen Schilling, Horsford Gardens & Nursery
2008  Tom Stearns, High Mowing Organic Seeds
2007  Karl Hammer, Vermont Compost Company
2006  Anne Mueller, Arcana Gardens and Greenhouses
2004  Common Ground Student Run Educational Farm
2002  Paul Sachs, North Country Organics
2001  Paul Sokal, Addison Gardens
2000  Adam Sherman
1997  Will & Judy Stevens
1996  Don Avery, Cady’s Falls Nursery
1995  SVCEC Horticulture Program
1994  Jim & Mary Musty, J. M. Landscaping
1993  Nancy Volatile Wood
1991  Andrea Morgante

Retailer of the Year Award

2016  Carol and Mike MacLeod, Evergreen Gardens
2015  Ed Burke, Rocky Dale Gardens
2014  Karen and Jack Manix, Walker Farm
2013  Tobi and Sally von Trapp, von Trapp Greenhouse
2012  Julie Rubaud, Red Wagon Plants

NENA Young Nursery Professional of the Year Award

2017  David Burton, diStefano Landscaping, Inc.
2016  Hannah Decker, Fairfax Perennial Farm, Inc.
2015  Gabe Bushey, Crafted Landscapes, LLC
2014  Jason Koicuba, Cobble Creek Nursery
2013  Brian Vaughan, Vaughan Landscaping
2012  Nathaniel Carr, Church Hill Landscapes, LLC
2011  Claybrook Griffith, Long Leaf Landscaping, LLC
2010  Shannon Lee, Cobble Creek Nursery
2009  Rebecca Lindenmeyr, Linden Landscaping & Design, Inc.
2008  R. Andrew Burtt, Old Nash Farm & Landscaping
2006  Chris Thompson, White River Valley Gardens & Landscaping
2005  Mark Starrett, UVM
2002  Tim Parsons, Greenhaven Gardens & Nursery
2001  Charlie Plonski, Horsfords Gardens & Nursery/New England Nursery Sales
2000  Peter Norris, Greenhaven Gardens & Nursery
1998  Scott Pfister, Vermont Department of Agriculture
1997  Stephen Tworig, North Branch Landscape Co., Inc.
1996  Bill Pedi, Northern Nurseries
1995  Thamasin Sullivan
1994  VJ Comai, South Forty Nursery
1993  Chris Schlegel
1992  Ralph Fitzgerald, Horsford Gardens & Nursery
1991  Pat Seibel